clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

But Apparently UNC Is an Even Bigger Source of Field Hockey Players

Oh, and the women's field hockey national team also announced their roster today, and UNC placed six players on that sixteen team squad. Kate Barber, Rachel Dawson, Katelyn Falgowski, Jesse Gey, Carrie Lingo, and Amy Tran will get the chance to breathe the toxic air of Beijing while representing the United States. Dawson, Falgowski and Gey were all on last fall's national champion UNC team - Dawson was Player of the Year - but only Falgowski will be a student in Chapel Hill after the Olympics.

The U.S. has qualified for the Olympics in field hockey only for times - 1980, 1984, 1988 and 1996, winning a bronze in the Los Angeles games. 12 teams will compete in Beijing, up from 10 in 2004. 

Fifteen of the sixteen players hail from four different schools. In addition to UNC, Old Dominion, Maryland, and Wake Forest are sending 4, 3, and 2 players. The sixteenth hails from Indiana.