clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Hansbrough, Lawson Named Wooden All Americans

I guess the Wooden Award folks decided to get it right. Then again they have 11 players on the team(it is normally 10 but there was a tie.)

Tyler Hansbrough is on the Wooden All American team for the 3rd straight season.  Ty Lawson was selected for the first time.  Pitt also had two players on the team with DeJuan Blair and Sam Young both named to the team which also included UConn's Hasheem Thabeet and Duke's Gerald Henderson.

This is the first time since 1998 when Vince Carter and Antawn Jamison were selected that UNC has had two players named to the Wooden team in the same season.  It is the fifth time it has happened in UNC history. Here is a full list of past Tar Heel Wooden All Americans:

2009 Ty Lawson and Tyler Hansbrough
2008 Tyler Hansbrough*
2007 Tyler Hansbrough
2005 Sean May
2001 Joseph Forte
1998 Vince Carter and Antawn Jamison*
1997 Antawn Jamison
1995 Rasheed Wallace and Jerry Stackhouse
1994 Eric Montross
1993 Eric Montross
1987 Kenny Smith
1986 Brad Daughtery
1984 Michael Jordan* and Sam Perkins
1983 Michael Jordan and Sam Perkins
1982 James Worthy
1981 Al Wood
1978 Phil Ford*
1977 Phil Ford

*Also won the Wooden Award

It should be noted that UNC will go into the Final Four with two All Americans on the roster just like in 1998. They also have two ACC Players of the Year on the roster at the same time and I am thinking that has to be a first.