clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Heels Celebrate Championship Season

UNC held their annual basketball banquet on Thursday night honoring the players who helped bring to Chapel Hill a fifth NCAA title. The banquet also included senior speeches, of which Mike Copeland stole the show apparently and some crying from Roy Williams. Here is a quick rundown of the awards:

Co-MVP: Ty Lawson and Tyler Hansbrough
Best Defender: Bobby Frasor
Most Inspirational: Marcus Ginyard
Most Improved: Ed Davis and Wayne Ellington
Scholar Athlete Award: Jack Wooten
Butch Bennett Award(exemplifying determination, sportsmanship and sacrifice): Tyler Zeller

Hansbrough, Frasor and Green were also named permanant team captains.

No word was given on whether Lawson and/or Ellington would return. Roy indicated they were in the middle of the process and he was gathering information. Roy also said he was thankful to have had Lawson and Ellington for three years and will be happy with whatever decision they make. Since the deadline is a week from Sunday, I expect we will know something next week. UNC usually holds a press conference for players choosing to enter the draft early which is to say if we get a press conference, we know someone is leaving.