clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

A Quick Look At ACC Basketball Coaches

[table id=124 /]

Note: Ken Pomeroy averages are for nine seasons(2003-2011) with the exception of Mark Gottfried(7), Jeff Bzledik(8), Brian Gregory(8) and Tony Bennett(5)

This is a snapshot of what the current ACC coaching roster looks like now that the carousel has stopped spinning. As it stands right now the ACC has five coaches with 20 or more years of experience as a DI head coach. VT's Seth Greenberg is the "least" experienced of that group with 21 years. From there it drops down the new Maryland coach Mark Turgeon who has 13 years and NCSU's Mark Gottfried who has ten seasons. However Gottfried has more wins in his career than Turgeon does.

In terms of NCAA Tournament appearances, Gottfried is third on the list with seven behind Mike Krzyzewski and Roy Williams. Three ACC coaches have never won a regular season or conference tournament title of any kind. Turgeon and FSU's Leonard Hamilton each have one regular season title and no conference tournament titles to their credit.

Only one ACC coach has a losing record and that is Wake's Jeff Bzdelik and looking at next season, that is not going to change.

UPDATE: For a great look at the change in tempo across the ACC from the recent coaching changes, check out this piece from Patrick Stevens at the Washington Times.