clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Zeller, Henson, Barnes 1st Team All-ACC; Marshall 2nd Team

The ACC has announced the All-ACC, All-Defensive and All-Freshman teams for the 2011-12 season.Tyler Zeller, John Henson and Harrison Barnes were named to the first team while PG Kendall Marshall was placed on the 2nd team. Zeller was the only unanimous pick on the first team. John Henson was a unanimous choice for All-Defensive team. Here are the teams and voting totals via the ACC.

Tyler Zeller, North Carolina (186)
Mike Scott, Virginia (184)
John Henson, North Carolina (170)
Austin Rivers, Duke (164)
Harrison Barnes, North Carolina (153)

Kendall Marshall, North Carolina (151)
Terrell Stoglin, Maryland (131)
Michael Snaer, Florida State (127)
C.J. Leslie, NC State (99)
Erick Green, Virginia Tech (70)

Seth Curry, Duke (65)
C.J. Harris, Wake Forest (57)
Lorenzo Brown, NC State (52)
Kenny Kadji, Miami (45)
Mason Plumlee, Duke (43)

Bernard James, Florida State (42); Andre Young, Clemson (35); Travis McKie, Wake Forest (26); Durand Scott, Miami (26).

John Henson, North Carolina (61)
Bernard James, Florida State (54)
Jontel Evans, Virginia (39)
Michael Snaer, Florida State (31)
Andre Young, Clemson (29)

Austin Rivers, Duke (61)
Ryan Anderson, Boston College (61)
Dorian Finney-Smith, Virginia Tech (53)
Shane Larkin, Miami (43)
Nick Faust, Maryland (41)

It is possible some vote splitting led to Barnes and Marshall being right on the cut line between first and second team. It is curious that a player with 9.6 apg and close the season with a pair of impressive performances couldn't break through to the top group. Then again someone pointed out NCSU's Chris Corchiani did that and averaged 16 ppg but never made All-ACC first team. The voting is just weird like that sometimes. In the end it may work out fine especially if Marshall views missing the first team the same way he viewed someone calling him overrated or one dimensional.

It is curious Mike Scott was not unanimous on the first team(which is stupid) and could make for an interesting situation tomorrow if Mike Scott wins ACC Player of the Year ahead of the only unanimous choice on the All-ACC first team.