clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

All-ACC Ballot

Bob Donnan-USA TODAY Sports

Here is my ballot for the All-ACC teams and conference awards which will be announced on Monday and Tuesday.

First Team

Shane Larkin, Miami
Mason Plumlee, Duke
Joe Harris, Virginia
Erick Green, Virginia Tech
Richard Howell, NC State

2nd Team

Seth Curry, Duke
Kenny Kadji, Miami
Lorenzo Brown, NC State
Michael Snaer, FSU
Reggie Bullock, UNC

3rd Team

P.J. Hairston, UNC
Quinn Cook, Duke
James Michael McAdoo, UNC
Akil Mitchell, Virginia
Ryan Anderson, Boston College


Shane Larkin Miami
Michael Snaer FSU
Jontel Evans Virginia
Alex Len Maryland
Reggie Bullock UNC


Olivier Hanlan BC
TJ Warren NC State
Rasheed Suliamon Duke
Devin Thomas Wake Forest
Robert Carter, Jr. Georgia Tech

Player of the Year: Erick Green, Virginia Tech

Rookie of the Year: TJ Warren, NC State

Defensive POY: Shane Larkin, Miami

Coach of the Year: Jim Larragnaga, Miami

Explanations, apologies and comments

The first team was pretty straightforward and based on what I've seen from other ballots, it would not be surprising if that ends up being the team. The 2nd team is likewise straightforward and nothing really controversial. Reggie Bullock was UNC's most consistent player and gets 2nd team honors. I also put him on the All-Defensive team despite his effort last night against Seth Curry.

For the 3rd team, I included P.J. Hairston because UNC doesn't finish third unless he enters the starting lineup and plays at the level he did. Not to mention, Hairston was really good in some games before he became a starter such as against FSU in Tallahassee and at Boston College before being sidelined by a concussion.

I opted to not include C.J. Leslie at all but opted to put both James Michael McAdoo and Virginia's Akil Mitchell on the 3rd team. My take on Leslie is simple. He hurts his team. He can be good at times but his shortcomings have cost NC State actual games from not boxing out Alex Len to turnovers at all the wrong times. You could argue James Michael McAdoo has been slightly less efficient and just as prone to turnovers but even in games McAdoo doesn't play well, he doesn't check out either.

For Player of the Year, Erick Green is the best player in the ACC hands down. And for his troubles he is stuck on a horrible team that finished dead last. However, that doesn't take away from how good he was as a player. I was at the UNC-Virginia Tech game and the effort UNC employed to keep Green to 16 points was unbelievable. Four different players took turns guarding Green and he still had a decent scoring game, just not his average.The Rookie of the Year award came down to either NCSU's T.J. Warren or Boston College's Olivier Hanlan. Warren got the nod thanks in part to a late season push which had the Wolfpack playing better.

If anyone wants to complain about All-Defensive or All-Freshman, feel free.