clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2015 All-ACC Ballot

Grant Halverson/Getty Images

Here it is.

All-ACC First Team

Jerian Grant, Notre Dame
Quinn Cook, Duke
Jahlil Okafor, Duke
Olivier Hanlan, Boston College
Malcolm Brogdon, Virginia

All-ACC Second Team

Terry Rozier, Louisville
Montrezl Harrell, Louisville
Rakeem Christmas, Syracuse
Brice Johnson, North Carolina
Anthony Gill, Virginia

All-ACC Third Team

Trevor Lacey, NC State
Jamel Artis, Pittsburgh
Justin Anderson, Virginia
Marcus Paige, North Carolina
Tyus Jones, Duke

All-Defensive Team

Malcolm Brogdon, Virginia
Darion Atkins, Virginia
Montrezl Harrell, Louisville
Terry Rozier, Louisville
Rakeem Christmas, Syracuse

All Freshman Team

Jahlil Okafor, Duke
Tyus Jones, Duke
Justise Winslow, Duke
Justin Jackson, North Carolina
Xavier Rathan-Mayes, Florida State

Individual Awards

Player of the Year: Jerian Grant, Notre Dame
Defensive Player of the Year: Darion Atkins, Virginia
Rookie of the Year: Jahlil Okafor, Duke
Most Improved: Michael Gbinije, Syracuse
Sixth Man: Vic Beachem, Notre Dame
Coach of the Year: Tony Bennett, Virginia

Explanations, Caveats and Apologies

-The stats I used for voting were based on ACC play only.

-I fully intended to vote Malcolm Brogdon as the defensive player of the year. The problem was Brogdon wasn't nominated for the award only his teammate Darion Atkins was listed to represent Virginia. Writing in a name was not possible so I opted to vote for Atkins since someone on Virginia's historically good defense should probably win the award.

-Jerian Grant got my vote for player of the year. For me his impact on games was undeniable in terms of his own offense but facilitating for others. Jahlil Okafor obviously deserved consideration but he also ended up being slightly behind Quinn Cook for scoring average in ACC play.

-There were tough choices to make in assembling a list of the best 15 players in the ACC. There are undoubtedly other ballots that say something slightly different which doesn't make me right or them wrong but rather there is some diversity in our opinions about which players deserve these honors.