clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Paige, Johnson Named to All-ACC Third Team

Rob Kinnan-USA TODAY Sports

Tar Heel juniors Marcus Paige and Brice Johnson were named to the All-ACC Third Team in voting by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association, the ACC has announced.

Paige, who was a first team selection last season, had 97 points including four first team votes. Johnson had 40 points and was the final member of the third team. UNC sophomore Kennedy Meeks was Honorable Mention with 10 points.

Freshman Justin Jackson joined the three Duke freshman and Florida State's Xavier Rathan-Mayes on the All Freshman Team.

In the league awards, Duke's Jahlil Okafor was named the league's Player of the Year and Rookie of the Year. Virginia's Darion Atkins received Defensive Player of the Year honors while his coach Tony Bennett was named Coach of the Year.

Here are the teams and awards as voted on by the ACSMA. My own ballot can be found here.

2014-15 ACSMA All-ACC Teams
(First place votes in parenthesis, followed by total points)

First Team All-ACC

Jahlil Okafor, Fr., Duke (64)                    320
Jerian Grant, Sr., Notre Dame (64)          320
Rakeem Christmas, Gr. Syracuse (51)    294
Malcolm Brogdon, Jr., Virginia (53)          293
Olivier Hanlan, Jr., Boston College (29)    246

Second Team All-ACC

Montrezl Harrell, Jr., Louisville (21)         220
Quinn Cook, Sr., Duke (23)                    219
Terry Rozier, So., Louisville (2)               154
Trevor Lacey, Jr., NC State (2)                123
Justin Anderson, Jr., Virginia (5)             106

Third Team All-ACC

Marcus Paige, Jr., North Carolina (4)        97
Tyus Jones, Fr., Duke (2)                        89
Pat Connaughton, Sr., Notre Dame          45
Anthony Gill, Jr., Virginia                         42
Brice Johnson, Jr., North Carolina            40

Honorable Mention

Jamel Artis, So., Pittsburgh                     33
Tonye Jekiri, Jr., Miami                            32
London Perrantes, So., Virginia                31
Sheldon McClellan, Jr., Miami                   31
Justise Winslow, Fr., Duke                       29
Xavier Rathan-Mayes, Fr., Florida State     24
Michael Young, So., Pittsburgh                 14
Angel Rodriguez, Jr., Miami                      13
Codi Miller-McIntyre, Jr., Wake Forest       12
Kennedy Meeks, So.,North Carolina          10

All-ACC Defensive Team

Rakeem Christimas, Syracuse - 58 points
Malcolm Brogdon, Virginia - 50
Darion Atkins, Virginia - 38
Tonye Jekiri, Miami - 38
BeeJay Anya, NC State - 29

All-ACC Freshman Team

Jahlil Okafor, Duke - 64 points
Justise Winslow, Duke - 62
Tyus Jones, Duke - 59
Xavier Rathan-Mayes, FSU - 57
Justin Jackson, North Carolina - 22

ACC Awards

Player of the Year: Jahlil Okafor, Duke
Rookie of the Year: Jahlil Okafor, Duke
Defensive Player of the Year: Darion Atkins, Virginia
Sixth Man of the Year: BeeJay Anya, NC State
Most Improved Player: Rakeem Christmas, Syracuse
Coach of the Year: Tony Bennett, Virginia