clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

More All-America Honors for Brice Johnson

Bob Donnan-USA TODAY Sports

I think that "C" word you are looking for isn't "complementary" but "consensus"

Brice Johnson added even more All-America accolades to the list with the NABC, Associated Press and Wooden Award naming him to their teams. In the case of the NABC and AP, Johnson was named to the first team.

Via UNC:

The Associated Press named University of North Carolina senior Brice Johnson a first-team All-America, which clinches consensus first-team All-America honors for the Tar Heel standout.

Johnson has earned first-team All-America honors from the AP, the National Association of Basketball Coaches and the United States Basketball Writers of America, and third-team honors from the Sporting News. Those are the four organizations the NCAA uses to determine consensus All-America honors.

The Orangeburg, S.C., native joins Virginia’s Malcolm Brogdon, Oklahoma’s Buddy Hield, Michigan State’s Denzel Valentine, LSU’s Ben Simmons and Kentucky’s Tyler Ulis as consensus first-teamers this year. Brogden, Hield and Valentine made all four first teams, Johnson made three of the four and Simmons and Ulis each made two.

Johnson leads Carolina into the Final Four averaging 17.1 points and 10.5 rebounds, and is shooting an ACC-best 61.6 percent from the floor. He was a unanimous selection to both the coaches’ and media All-ACC teams, was a first-team All-ACC Tournament selection and Most Outstanding Player in the NCAA East Regional.

So among the four teams uses to qualify as consensus All-America by the NCAA, Johnson was named to the first team for three of them: NABC, USBWA and the AP. The lone dissenter in that group was The Sporting News which we can now say inexplicably put Johnson on the third team. At this point we will once again point and laugh at the asinine reason given by TSN's Mike DeCourcy


Actually, the "not consistently great" might be the more egregious aspect of that tweet than even calling Johnson complementary.

Johnson is the first UNC player to be named consensus first team All-America since Tyler Hansbrough who did it in 2007, 2008 and 2009.  The Orangeburg, SC senior becomes the 17th Tar Heel to earn the honor which puts him in a fairly heady group of Tar Heels from the past. Here is the list:

Cartwright Carmichael (1923 and 1924)
Jack Cobb (1924, 1925 and 1926)
George Glamack (1940 and 1941)
Lennie Rosenbluth (1957)
Larry Miller (1968)
Robert McAdoo (1972)
Phil Ford (1977 and 1978)
James Worthy (1982)
Michael Jordan (1983 and 1984)
Sam Perkins (1983 and 1984)
Kenny Smith (1987)
J.R. Reid (1988)
Jerry Stackhouse (1995)
Antawn Jamison (1998)
Joseph Forte (2001)
Tyler Hansbrough (2007, 2008 and 2009)
Brice Johnson (2016)

When asked about the honor in UNC's press conference today, Johnson's response was "I've go two more games to play."