clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Brice Johnson Named First Team All-ACC; Hicks Sixth Man

Streeter Lecka/Getty Images

UNC senior forward Brice Johnson has been named First Team All-ACC and Isaiah Hicks the league's Sixth Man of the Year according to votes by the ACSMA. Johnson, who averaged a double-double on the season and in league play was one of only two unanimous selections along with ACC Player of the Year Malcolm Brogdon of Virginia.

Via UNC some notes on Johnson's selection.

Johnson is Carolina’s 74th first-team selection, which is seven more than any other school. Johnson is the 16th Tar Heel to be a unanimous choice and the fifth to accomplish that in the last quarter century (with Antawn Jamison in 1998, Joseph Forte in 2001, Tyler Hansbrough in 2006, 2007, 2008 and 2009 and Tyler Zeller in 2012).

Hicks, who provided a spark off the bench for UNC throughout the season, received 19 votes for Sixth Man of the Year beating out Miami's Ja'Quan Newton.

Here is the full list of teams and awards.

2015-16 ACSMA All-ACC Teams
(First-place votes, followed by total points)

All-Atlantic Coast Conference
First Team

Brice Johnson, Sr., North Carolina      51      *255
Malcolm Brogdon, Sr., Virginia  51      *255
Cat Barber, Jr., NC State       48      249
Grayson Allen, So., Duke        47      247
Jaron Blossomgame, Jr., Clemson 32      213

Second Team

Michael Gbinije, Sr., Syracuse  8       155
Sheldon McClellan, Sr., Miami   6       136
Demetrius Jackson, Jr., Notre Dame      3       130
Brandon Ingram, Fr., Duke       4       129
Damion Lee, Sr., Louisville     1       90

Third Team

Marcus Georges-Hunt, Sr., Georgia Tech  -       76
Anthony Gill, Sr., Virginia     -       70
Zach Auguste, Sr., Notre Dame   -       45
Michael Young, Jr., Pittsburgh  -       37
Angel Rodriguez, Sr., Miami     3       35

Honorable Mention:
Justin Jackson, North Carolina; Tonye Jekiri, Miami; Zach LeDay, Virginia Tech; Chinanu Onuaku, Louisville; Marcus Paige, North Carolina; London Perrantes, Virginia; Devin Thomas, Wake Forest.

All-ACC Freshman Team

Brandon Ingram, Duke    *51
Dwayne Bacon, Florida State     50
Malik Beasley, Florida State    49
Malachi Richardson, Syracuse    34
Bryant Crawford, Wake Forest    28

All-ACC Defensive Team

Malcolm Brogdon, Sr., Virginia  49
Tonye Jekiri, Sr., Miami        39
Michael Gbinije, Sr., Syracuse  36
Landry Nnoko, Sr., Clemson      30
Chinanu Onuaku, So., Louisville 27

ACC Player of the Year

Malcolm Brogdon, Sr., Virginia  38
Brice Johnson, Sr., North Carolina      9
Cat Barber, Jr., NC State       3
Grayson Allen, So., Duke        1

ACC Freshman of the Year

Brandon Ingram, Duke    48
Dwayne Bacon, Florida State     1
Malik Beasley, Florida State    1
Malachi Richardson, Syracuse    1

ACC Coach of the Year

Jim Larrañaga, Miami    24
Buzz Williams, Virginia Tech    22
Tony Bennett, Virginia  2
Roy Williams, North Carolina    1
Brad Brownell, Clemson  1
Brian Gregory, Georgia Tech     1

ACC Defensive Player of the Year

Malcolm Brogdon, Sr., Virginia  39
Tonye Jekiri, Sr., Miami        9
Michael Gbinije, Sr., Syracuse  1
Marshall Plumlee, Sr., Duke     1
Chinanu Onuaku, So., Louisville 1

ACC Most Improved Player of the Year

Jaron Blossomgame, Jr., Clemson 21
Grayson Allen, So., Duke        15
Cat Barber, Jr., NC State       4
Zach LeDay, Jr., Virginia Tech  4
Ja'Quan Newton, So., Miami      2
Joel Berry, So., North Carolina 2
Marcus Georges-Hunt, Sr., Georgia Tech  1
Dennis Clifford, Sr., Boston College    1
Chinanu Onuaku, So., Louisville 1

ACC Sixth Man of the Year

Isaiah Hicks, Jr., North Carolina       19
Ja'Quan Newton, So., Miami      12
Luke Kennard, Fr., Duke 7
Tyler Lydon, Fr., Syracuse      6
Devon Bookert, Sr., Florida State       6
Sheldon Jeter, Jr., Pittsburgh  1