clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Here are the Tar Heel Blog ACC Preseason Awards

How different are we from the real thing? And how much better?

Boston College v Syracuse Photo by Brett Carlsen/Getty Images

College football season is finally upon us! Yes, it might not be everybody’s favorite, but at the very least it signals an end to the monotony of summer sports (sorry not sorry to all the baseball fans out there). And with the advent of the season come preseason predictions that will no doubt look ridiculous by the time some games have actually been played. Of course we had to join in on the fun. Check out who we at Tar Heel Blog have making the All-ACC Team this year, as well as winning the end-of-season superlatives:

(Winners/All-ACC members are in bold and italics)


Quarterback: Deondre Francois, Florida State; Kelly Bryant, Clemson; Josh Jackson, Virginia Tech; Ryan Finley, North Carolina State; Trevor Lawrence, Clemson

Running Backs: A.J. Dillon, Boston College; Cam Akers, Florida State

Wide Receivers: Anthony Ratliff-Williams, North Carolina; Jaylen Smith, Louisville; Sean Savoy, Virginia Tech

Tight End: Tommy Sweeney, Boston College; Carl Tucker, North Carolina; Ravian Pierce, Syracuse

Offensive Tackle: Mitch Hyatt, Clemson; Chris Lindstrom, Boston College; Charlie Heck, North Carolina; Tyree St. Louis, Miami

Offensive Guard: Parker Braun, Georgia Tech; Terrone Prescod, North Carolina State; Phil Haynes, Wake Forest

Center: Justin Falcinelli, Clemson; Ryan Anderson, Wake Forest


Defensive Tackle: Christian Wilkins, Clemson; Dexter Lawrence, Clemson; Ricky Walker, Virginia Tech; Jason Strowbridge, North Carolina

Defensive End: Clelin Ferrell, Clemson; Austin Bryant, Clemson; Zach Allen, Boston College

Linebacker: Shaquille Quarterman, Miami; Joe Giles-Harris, Duke; Kendall Joseph, Clemson; Cole Holcomb, North Carolina, Michael Pinkney, Miami

Cornerback: Michael Jackson, Miami; Levonta Taylor, Florida State; Mark Gilbert, Duke; Essang Bailey, Wake Forest

Safety: Myles Dorn, North Carolina; Jaquan Johnson, Miami; Lukas Denis, Boston College

Special Teams

Kicker: Ricky Aguayo, Florida State; Blanton Crecque, Louisville

Punter: Pressley Harvin, Georgia Tech*; Hunter Lent, UNC; Sterling Hofrichter, Syracuse

Specialist/Returner: Joe Reed, Virginia; Dyami Brown, North Carolina

*Harvin and Lent tied in the voting and the ACC Representative was decided by coin flip.


ACC Most Valuable Player: Deondre Francois, Quarterback, Florida State

ACC Offensive Player of the Year: A.J. Dillon, Running Back, Boston College

ACC Defensive Player of the Year: Clelin Ferrell, Defensive End, Clemson

ACC Coach of the Year: Steve Addazio, Boston College

What do you think? Too many Heels? Too few? Sound off in the comments!