clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

The 2018-2019 UNC Basketball schedule has been released

New, comments

The Tar Heels released their full slate of games for the upcoming season earlier today

NCAA Basketball: NCAA Tournament-First Round-North Carolina vs Lipscomb Jeremy Brevard-USA TODAY Sports

The North Carolina Tar Heels released the 2018-19 men’s basketball schedule Thursday. As usual, Coach Roy Williams has a challenging non-conference docket lined up prior to the always-grueling ACC regular season.

The full schedule is below:

UNC Basketball 2018-19 Schedule

Date Opponent/Event Location Time (ET) TV
Date Opponent/Event Location Time (ET) TV
Friday, October 12 Late Night with Roy Chapel Hill, NC 7:30 PM ACC Network Extra
Friday, November 2 Mount Olive (exhibition) Chapel Hill, NC 7:30 PM ACC Network Extra
Tuesday, November 6 Wofford Spartanburg, SC 7:00 PM TBA
Friday, November 9 Elon Elon, NC TBA TBA
Monday, November 12 Stanford Chapel Hill, NC TBA TBA
Friday, November 16 Tennessee Tech (Continental Tire Las Vegas Invitational) Chapel Hill, NC TBA TBA
Monday, November 19 St. Francis (Continental Tire Las Vegas Invitational) Chapel Hill, NC TBA TBA
Thursday, November 22 Texas (Continental Tire Las Vegas Invitational) Las Vegas, NV 7:30 PM FS1
Friday, November 23 Michigan State or UCLA (Continental Tire Las Vegas Invitational) Las Vegas, NV 4:00 PM or 6:30 PM Fox
Wednesday, November 28 Michigan (ACC-Big Ten Challenge) Ann Arbor, MI 9:00 PM ESPN
Wednesday, December 5 UNCW Chapel Hill, NC TBA TBA
Saturday, December 15 Gonzaga Chapel Hill, NC 7:00 PM TBA
Saturday, December 22 Kentucky (CBS Sports Classic) Chicago, IL 5:15 PM CBS
Saturday, December 29 Davidson Chapel Hill, NC TBA TBA
Wednesday, January 2 Harvard Chapel Hill, NC TBA TBA
Saturday, January 5 Pitt Pittsburgh, PA Noon Raycom
Tuesday, January 8 NC State Raleigh, NC 9:00 PM ESPN or ESPN 2
Saturday, January 12 Louisville Chapel Hill, NC Noon ESPN or ESPN 2
Tuesday, January 15 Notre Dame Chapel Hill, NC 9:00 PM ESPN
Saturday, January 19 Miami Coral Gables, FL Noon ESPN or ESPN 2
Monday, January 21 Virginia Tech Chapel Hill, NC 7:00 PM ESPN
Tuesday, January 29 Georgia Tech Atlanta, GA 7:00 PM RSN
Saturday, February 2 Louisville Louisville, KY TBA ESPN or ESPN 2
Tuesday, February 5 NC State Chapel Hill, NC 8:00 PM Raycom
Saturday, February 9 Miami Chapel Hill, NC Noon Raycom
Monday, February 11 Virginia Chapel Hill, NC 7:00 PM ESPN
Saturday, February 16 Wake Forest Winston-Salem, NC Noon Raycom
Wednesday, February 20 Duke Durham, NC 9:00 PM ESPN and Raycom
Saturday, February 23 Florida State Chapel Hill, NC 3:45 PM CBS
Tuesday, February 26 Syracuse Chapel Hill, NC 7:00 PM or 9:00 PM ESPN or Raycom
Saturday, March 2 Clemson Clemson, SC 4:00 PM or 6:00 PM ESPN or ESPN 2
Tuesday March 5 Boston College Chestnut Hill, MA 8:00 PM Raycom
Saturday, March 9 Duke Chapel Hill, NC 6:00 PM or 8:00 PM ESPN
Tuesday, March 12 ACC Tournament First Round Charlotte, NC Noon, 2:20 PM, 7:00 PM ESPN2, ESPNU, Raycom
Wednesday, March 13 ACC Tournament Second Round Charlotte, NC Noon, 2:20 PM, 7:00 PM, 9:20 PM ESPN, ESPN2, ESPNU, Raycom
Thursday, March 14 ACC Tournament Quarterfinals Charlotte, NC Noon, 2:20 PM, 7:00 PM, 9:20 PM ESPN and Raycom
Friday, March 15 ACC Tournament Semifinals Charlotte, NC 7:00 PM, 9:20 PM ESPN or ESPN 2 and Raycom
Saturday, March 16 ACC Tournament Finals Charlotte, NC 8:30 PM ESPN and Raycom
March 19-20 NCAA Tournament First Four Dayton, OH
March 21-24 NCAA Tournament First and Second Rounds
March 28-31 NCAA Tournament Regionals
April 6 and 8 NCAA Tournament Final Four Minneapolis, MN

A few non-conference highlights:

  • Basketball season will kickoff on October 12 with Late Night with Roy.
  • The first regular season game will be Tuesday, November 6 at Wofford.
  • UNC will participate in the Continental Tire Las Vegas Invitational, which entails a guaranteed matchup versus Texas and one against either Michigan State or UCLA.
  • The Heels’ matchup in this year’s CBS Sports Classic will be against Kentucky in Chicago.
  • Gonzaga will travel to Chapel Hill for a rematch of the 2017 National Championship game.
  • As per the norm, UNC will host former players and assistant coaches Jerod Haase (head coach of Stanford) and C.B. McGrath (head coach of UNCW) in Chapel Hill
  • The Tar Heels will be the first opponent to play in the Schar Center, Elon’s new basketball and convocation center.

Carolina opens conference play on Saturday, January 5 at Pitt and concludes the regular season in Chapel Hill on Saturday, March 9 versus Duke.

What games stick out in the schedule? Which games will you be attending? Let us know in the comments below, and check back with Tar Heel Blog for in-depth analysis on the conference schedule and opponent previews as basketball season nears.