clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

UNC Field Hockey are NCAA Champions!

The Tar Heels cap off another undefeated season with a national title

2018 NCAA Division II Women’s Field Hockey Championship Photo by Steve Nowland/NCAA Photos via Getty Images

If you haven’t been paying attention, there is an NCAA dynasty currently residing in Chapel Hill, and it’s none other than Karen Shelton and the UNC Field Hockey team. After winning the NCAA title last year with an undefeated season, Sheldon and the Tar Heels decided they would do it again on Sunday, taking down the Princeton Tigers 6-1. They finish the season undefeated again, 23-0, and currently have a 46 game winning streak.

Princeton got the game off to a quick start off a goal by Emma Street, and fear momentarily crept in. The Tar Heels didn’t panic, however, as Marissa Creatore tied it up in the final minute of the first quarter. From there, the Tar Heels just took absolute control, ultimately scoring six unanswered goals to take down the Tigers and take the title.

Erin Matson and Eva Smolenaars would go on to score twice in the rout, and Hannah Griggs got the other score for the Tar Heels. Carolina once again showed just how lethal they could be by scoring in bunches and erasing any doubt early, coasting at the end to a comfortable victory.

Performances like this are why you get a stadium named after you, as Shelton has just behind Ehringhaus dorm. The title marks the eighth for the program, all under Shelton, who just continues to cement her legacy as one of the best coaches to ever wear Carolina Blue. Over the last decade, her teams have been:

  • 2009: Champs
  • 2010: Runners up
  • 2011: Runners up
  • 2012: Runners up
  • 2013: In the Final Four
  • 2014: In the Final Four
  • 2015: Runners up
  • 2016: Runners up
  • 2017: In the Final Four
  • 2018: Champs
  • 2019: Champs

Congratulations to the field hockey squad for bringing another national title to the University of National Champions!