clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

UNC Baseball: 2019 Schedule Preview

Taking a look head at the Diamond Heels’ season

Photo by Evan Davis

The North Carolina Tar Heels open the 2019 baseball season and there are high hopes for the Diamond Heels. Carolina is ranked in the top 10 in all the major polls and have a few players on various preseason All-American lists.

It will likely be another strong year for the ACC. As many as eight teams are ranked in the Top 25 in some of the major polls. In each of them, UNC is the top ACC team, so... yeah, this team is getting serious respect. The regular season kicks off tonight with the first game of a three-game series versus Xavier, which will begin a 13-game homestand to start the season.

2019 UNC Baseball Schedule

Date Day Opponent Location Time TV
Date Day Opponent Location Time TV
February 15 Friday Xavier Chapel Hill 3 p.m. ACC Network Extra
February 16 Saturday Xavier Chapel Hill 2 p.m. ACC Network Extra
February 17 Sunday Xavier Chapel Hill 1 p.m. ACC Network Extra
February 19 Tuesday NC A&T Chapel Hill 3 p.m. ACC Network Extra
February 20 Wednesday VCU Chapel Hill 3 p.m. ACC Network Extra
February 22 Friday South Florida Chapel Hill 3 p.m. ACC Network Extra
February 23 Saturday South Florida Chapel Hill 1 p.m. ACC Network Extra
February 24 Sunday South Florida Chapel Hill 1 p.m. ACC Network Extra
February 26 Tuesday UNCW Chapel Hill 3 p.m. ACC Network Extra
March 1 Friday UMass Lowell Chapel Hill 3 p.m. ACC Network Extra
March 2 Saturday UMass Lowell Chapel Hill 2 p.m. ACC Network Extra
March 3 Sunday UMass Lowell Chapel Hill 1 p.m. ACC Network Extra
March 5 Tuesday Charleston Southern Chapel Hill 3 p.m. ACC Network Extra
March 8 Friday at Clemson Clemson, S.C. 6 p.m. ACC Network Extra
March 9 Saturday at Clemson Clemson, S.C. 3 p.m. ACC Network Extra
March 10 Sunday at Clemson Clemson, S.C. 1 p.m. ACC Network Extra
March 12 Tuesday Gardner-Webb Chapel Hill 3 p.m. ACC Network Extra
March 13 Wednesday at UNCW Wilmington, N.C. 6 p.m.
March 15 Friday Miami Chapel Hill 6 p.m. ACC Network Extra
March 16 Saturday Miami Chapel Hill 2 p.m. ACC Network Extra
March 17 Sunday Miami Chapel Hill 1 p.m. ACC Network Extra
March 19 Tuesday at Liberty Lynchburg, Va. 3 p.m.
March 22 Friday at Virginia Tech Blacksburg, Va. 6 p.m. ACC Network Extra
March 23 Saturday at Virginia Tech Blacksburg, Va. 3 p.m. ACC Network Extra
March 24 Sunday at Virginia Tech Blacksburg, Va. 1 p.m. ACC Network Extra
March 26 Tuesday Campbell Chapel Hill 6 p.m. ACC Network Extra
March 29 Friday Duke Chapel Hill 6 p.m. ACC Network Extra
March 30 Saturday Duke Chapel Hill 3 p.m. ACC Network Extra
March 31 Sunday Duke Chapel Hill 1 p.m. ACC Network Extra
April 2 Tuesday Davidson Chapel Hill 6 p.m. ACC Network Extra
April 5 Friday at Georgia Tech Atlanta, Ga. 6 p.m. ACC Network Extra
April 6 Saturday at Georgia Tech Atlanta, Ga. 4 p.m. ACC Network Extra
April 7 Sunday at Georgia Tech Atlanta, Ga. 1 p.m. ACC Network Extra
April 9 Tuesday UNCG Chapel Hill 6 p.m. ACC Network Extra
April 12 Friday at Notre Dame Notre Dame, Ind. 6 p.m. ACC Network Extra
April 13 Saturday at Notre Dame Notre Dame, Ind. 2 p.m. ACC Network Extra
April 14 Sunday at Notre Dame Notre Dame, Ind. 1 p.m. ACC Network Extra
April 16 Tuesday South Carolina Charlotte, N.C. 7:05 p.m.
April 19 Friday Boston College Chapel Hill 6 p.m. ACC Network Extra
April 20 Saturday Boston College Chapel Hill 3 p.m. ACC Network Extra
April 21 Sunday Boston College Chapel Hill 1 p.m. ACC Network Extra
April 23 Tuesday Coastal Carolina Chapel Hill 6 p.m. ACC Network Extra
April 26 Friday Virginia Chapel Hill 6 p.m. ACC Network Extra
April 27 Saturday Virginia Chapel Hill 3 p.m. ACC Network Extra
April 28 Sunday Virginia Chapel Hill 1 p.m. ACC Network Extra
April 30 Tuesday Liberty Chapel Hill 6 p.m. ACC Network Extra
May 7 Tuesday Winthrop Chapel Hill 6 p.m. ACC Network Extra
May 8 Wednesday ECU Chapel Hill 6 p.m. ACC Network Extra
May 10 Friday at Pittsburgh Pittsburgh, Pa. 6 p.m. ACC Network Extra
May 11 Saturday at Pittsburgh Pittsburgh, Pa. 3 p.m. ACC Network Extra
May 12 Sunday at Pittsburgh Pittsburgh, Pa. 1 p.m. ACC Network Extra
May 14 Tuesday High Point Chapel Hill 6 p.m. ACC Network Extra
May 16 Thursday NC State Chapel Hill 6 p.m. ACC Network Extra
May 17 Friday NC State Chapel Hill 6 p.m. ACC Network Extra
May 18 Saturday NC State Chapel Hill 4:30 p.m. ACC Network Extra

Postseason schedule:

  • May 21-26, ACC Championship, Durham Bulls Athletic Park, Durham, N.C.
  • May 31-June 3, NCAA Regionals
  • June 7-10, NCAA Super Regionals
  • June 15-26, College World Series, TD Ameritrade Park, Omaha, NE

The Tar Heels have eight opponents on the schedule that played in the 2018 NCAA Tournament. Three of those teams - N.C. State, ECU, and Florida State - were regional hosts.

Of the ACC teams ranked in the Top 25, Carolina will face Duke and NC State at Boshamer Stadium, while they will travel to take on Clemson and Georgia Tech. The Heels will also host Miami, who is ranked 33rd in Collegiate Baseball Newspaper’s 2019 preseason poll. UNC will not face Atlantic Division foes Florida State and Louisville this year in the regular season.

In addition to these ranked ACC teams, Carolina will take on Coastal Carolina in April. The Chanticleers are ranked in all five major polls, going as high as 12th in Baseball America’s poll. The Heels will also face ECU in a Wednesday night battle in Chapel Hill in May. The Pirates are ranked in the Top 15 in four of the five major polls.

Other schedule highlights:

  • Carolina will take on South Carolina once again in the border war at BB&T Field in Charlotte.
  • After traveling to Clemson, the Tar Heels have a quick turnaround at home versus Gardner-Webb on Tuesday and in Wilmington against UNCW Wednesday night.
  • Between April 5 and April 16, UNC will play seven of eight games on the road.
  • 14 of Carolina’s last 17 games of the regular season will be in Chapel Hill.

Best of luck to the Heels!