clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

UNC Women’s Lacrosse team releases schedule

The Tar Heels look to return to the Final Four this season.

NCAA Lacrosse: Women’s Lacrosse Championship-James Madison vs North Carolina
Jamie Ortega (3)
Chris Bergmann-USA TODAY Sports

The North Carolina Tar Heels women’s lacrosse team released their schedule Thursday. The back-to-back-to-back-to-back ACC champions kick off their season on February 1st with an exhibition versus Elon. The team’s first regular season game is against James Madison in Harrisonburg, Virginia on February 8.

The team comes into the 2020 season with high expectations. UNC is the top-ranked team in the Nike/US Lacrosse preseason poll. This squad is led by the preseason national player of the year, junior attacker Jamie Ortega, and will be coached by Jenny Levy, now in her 24th season as a Heel. She is the only person to have ever coached UNC women’s lacrosse.

Last season, Carolina won its fourth consecutive and fifth overall ACC title. This is the most of any current conference team out of the 8 that sponsor women’s lacrosse: UNC, Boston College, Duke, Louisville, Notre Dame, Syracuse, Virginia, and Virginia Tech have programs. The ACC has had women’s lacrosse since 1997.

After winning the 2019 ACC championship, the Tar Heels earned the national no. 3 spot in the NCAA Tournament. After eliminating Florida and Virginia, UNC advanced to the Final Four. Their shot at a national title was cut short in the national semifinals after a double-overtime loss to Boston College.

This year, Carolina has a tough schedule. They will face the other three teams that participated in the 2019 Final Four, including reigning national champion Maryland.

Take a look at the schedule below. Home games are at the less-than-year-old Dorrance Field.

2020 Women’s Lacrosse Schedule

Date Opponent/Event Location Time (ET)
Date Opponent/Event Location Time (ET)
Saturday, February 1 Elon (Exhibition) Chapel Hill, NC 3:00 PM
Saturday, February 8 James Madison Harrisonburg, VA 1:00 PM
Friday, February 14 High Point High Point, NC 6:00 PM
Sunday, February 16 Davidson Chapel Hill, NC 2:00 PM
Saturday, February 22 Maryland Chapel Hill, NC 1:00 PM
Saturday, February 29 Virginia Charlottesville, VA 12:00 PM
Thursday, March 5 Louisville Chapel Hill, NC 6:00 PM
Monday, March 9 Northwestern Evanston, IL 6:00 PM
Sunday, March 15 Notre Dame Chapel Hill, NC 12:00 PM
Saturday, March 21 Florida Chapel Hill, NC 3:00 PM
Monday, March 23 East Carolina Chapel Hill, NC 6:00 PM
Saturday, March 28 Boston College Newton, MA 12:00 PM
Sunday, March 29 Brown Providence, RI 1:00 PM
Saturday, April 4 Virginia Tech Chapel Hill, NC 1:00 PM
Sunday, April 5 Mercer Chapel Hill, NC 1:00 PM
Saturday, April 11 Syracuse Syracuse, NY 1:00 PM
Saturday, April 18 Duke Chapel Hill, NC 5:00 PM
Wednesday, April 22 - Sunday, April 26 ACC Tournament Chapel Hill, NC TBA
Friday, May 8 - Sunday, May 24 NCAA Tournament TBA TBA

Best of luck to the Tar Heels this season!