clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

UNC basketball: Tar Heels release 2017-2018 roster

A new year, a new lineup

NCAA Basketball: Final Four Champions-North Carolina Celebration Suzie Wolf-USA TODAY Sports

The Tar Heels have officially released their roster of players ahead of the 2017-2018 NCAA season. This year will be a new beginning for the reigning champs as they must fill the roster in place of Justin Jackson, Kennedy Meeks, Isaiah Hicks, Nate Britt, and Tony Bradley. Between new freshman and a key transfer, North Carolina should have another impressive roster.

Here’s the new squad:

0 Seventh Woods
1 Theo Pinson
2 Joel Berry II
3 Andrew Platek
4 Brandon Robinson
5 Jalek Felton
11 Shea Rush
13 Cameron Johnson
15 Garrison Brooks
21 Sterling Manley
22 Walker Miller
24 Kenny Williams III
25 Aaron Rohlman
30 KJ Smith
32 Luke Maye
42 Brandon Huffman

The team’s freshmen include Andrew Platek, Jalek Felton, Garrison Brooks, and Sterling Manley. Other new additions include transfers Cam Johnson from Pitt and KJ Smith from the University of the Pacific.

Seventh Woods will change his number from 21 to 0, and Brandon Robinson will take 4 instead of 14. Transfer KJ Smith will wear 30 in honor of his father Kenny Smith, and Walker Miller will take 22, which his brother Wes Miller previously wore.

UNC plays an exhibition game against Barton College in October before the season kicks off in earnest against Northern Iowa in November.

Who are you most excited to see this season? What are your thoughts on the number assignments? Let us know in the comments!