clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tar Heel Blog staff preseason ACC predictions

Before the college football season starts, the THB staff predict who will stand out this season

NCAA Football: Louisville Spring Game Jamie Rhodes-USA TODAY Sports

The ACC has a tall task ahead of it this season, as it will have to defend its title as the best conference in college football. After winning the championship and owning the SEC in head-to-head matchups in 2016, there is no questioning who the superior conference was last year. Maintaining this, however, is going to be hard, and it’s going to take some star power. We at THB decided to predict where that star power might come from by making our own All-ACC predictions. From 14 votes cast, here they are, listed by number of votes earned. All-ACC team representatives are in bold and italics.


Quarterback: Lamar Jackson, Louisville; Deondre Francois, Florida State

Running Backs: Mark Walton, Miami; Jacques Patrick, Florida State; Travon McMillan, Virginia Tech; Qadree Ollison, Pittsburgh; Cam Akers, Florida State; Michael Carter, UNC; Jeremy Smith, Louisville

Wide Receivers: Austin Proehl, UNC; Deon Cain, Clemson; Hunter Renfrow, Clemson; Nyquan Murray, Florida State; Ahmmon Richards, Miami; Ervin Philips, Syracuse

Tight End: Cam Serigne, Wake Forest; Brandon Fritts, UNC; Ryan Izzo, Florida State; Chris Herndon; Miami

Offensive Tackles: Micah Hyatt, Clemson; Bentley Spain, UNC; Brian O’Neill, Pittsburgh; Geron Christian, Louisville; Rick Leonard, Florida State; Brock Ruble, Florida State

Offensive Guards: Tyrone Crowder, Clemson; Landon Dickers, Florida State; Parker Braun, Georgia Tech; KC McDermott, Miami; Tony Adams, NC State; Wyatt Teller, Virginia Tech; Alex Officer, Pittsburgh

Center: Cam Dillard, UNC; Jon Baker, Boston College; Alec Eberle, Florida State; Eric Gallo, Virginia Tech


Defensive Ends: Bradley Chubb, NC State; Harold Landry, Boston College; Josh Sweat, Florida State; Clelin Ferrell, Clemson; Duke Ejiofor, Wake Forest; Joe Jackson, Miami; Malik Carney, UNC

Defensive Tackles: Dexter Lawrence, Clemson (11); Derrick Nnadi, Florida State; Christian Wilkins, Clemson; Jalen Dalton, UNC; Tim Settle, Virginia Tech

Linebackers: Shaquille Quarterman, Miami; Tremaine Edwards, Virginia Tech; Micah Kiser, Virginia; Andre Smith, UNC; Kendall Joseph, Clemson; Zaire Franklin, Syracuse; Jacob Pugh, Florida State

Cornerbacks: M.J. Stewart, UNC (unanimous); Jaire Alexander, Louisville; Tarvarus McFadden, Florida State; Greg Stroman, Virginia Tech; Ryan Carter, Clemson; Bryon Fields, Duke; Dee Delaney, Miami

Safeties: Derwin James, Florida State; Quin Blanding, Virginia; Jordan Whitehead, Pittsburgh; Terrell Edmunds, Virginia Tech; Donnie Miles, UNC; Jessie Bates, Wake Forest

Special Teams

Placekicker: Ricky Aguayo, Florida State; Michael Badgley, Miami; Freeman Jones, UNC

Punter: Tom Sheldon, UNC; A.J. Cole, NC State; Sterling Hofrichter, Syracuse

Returner: Quadree Henderson, Pittsburgh; Braxton Berrier, Miami; Shaun Wilson, Duke; Nyheim Hines, NC State


ACC Player of the Year: Lamar Jackson, Quarterback, Louisville

ACC Offensive Player of the Year: Lamar Jackson, Quarterback, Louisville

ACC Defensive Player of the Year: Derwin James, Safety, Florida State

ACC Coach of the Year: Jimbo Fisher, Florida State

ACC Offensive Rookie of the Year: Cam Akers, Running Back, Florida State

ACC Defensive Rookie of the Year: Joshua Kaindoh, Defensive End, Florida State

You can find the ACC media’s predictions here. Tell us what you think below!